Sustainable Design and my Creative Process

Writing a manifesto sounds like such an intimidating task but as a person who is passionate about sustainability, I found words came fairly easy; the hard part was keeping it concise.

To research this project, I read through a plethora of manifestos, on design and other disciplines as well as sustainability standards from AIGA, GDC and Design Can Change. The ones I especially liked were beautifully designed (surprise?), bold and concise.

 

Anant Ahuja’s personal design manifesto.
IoTManifesto-1
IoT Manifesto, 2015
first-things-first-manifesto-1964
My favourite of the bunch, this was published by Ken Garland in 1964. Though I really appreciated the criticism put forth by Garland in his 2012 response to the piece, it was still an incredibly important document which changed the way designers thought about their work.

I spent a long time writing my thoughts on what I wanted my personal sustainability manifesto to say before beginning the design of the poster as I wanted to see how succinct I could make the copy. To make the poster striking, I got my sentiment down to one sentence: “design is my voice in the world and I choose to use it with integrity” and elaborated in endnotes.

This was my first draft of the poster which I found too plain to represent me.
This was my first draft of the poster which I found too plain to represent me.

 

 

 

I originally typeset the key phrase but later decided to put a little bit of myself into the poster and handwrite it. The remainder of the poster is quiet and orderly to contrast with the main message.

My finished 11x17 poster. I look forward to getting feedback from the class to see what their thoughts on how this could improve.
My finished 11×17 poster. I look forward to getting feedback from the class to see what their thoughts on how this could improve.

I worked really hard to research, write and design this piece and I think I deserve an A for the effort and outcome. Even though my copy is under 200 words, I think I captured the essence of how I want to conduct myself as a professional.

This was a really interesting project that I look forward to revisiting in the future.

Leave a Reply

